New Member, saying hello (and a quick question)..

Alerts, help needed, and anything else you want to share.

Moderator: AntonLargiader

Mickey Blue

New Member, saying hello (and a quick question)..

Post by Mickey Blue » Thu Oct 05, 2006 10:14 am

First off, hey everybody, just joined this site (I've heard good things from some friends of mine who are members here).

I am a firefighter in Charlottesville and have recently become interested enough in motorcycles to overcome my fears of riding them. I have always loved them, but in all honesty its also been a "deep end of the pool" kind of thing for me.

In any case, I did have one question, where is a good place to go to try riding one for somebody who has never ridden ever before? Somewhere that can teach the basics, safety information, how to actually ride it, and most importantly (at least from my perspective) let you acutally try one out and see how it fits you.

And, as additional info, do these places (which I assume exist cause people learn somehow) require you to own your own bike? All your own safety gear? Anything else?

Thanks for taking the time to read this, hopefully I'll be out on the open road before I know it.

-Mike

AntonLargiader

Post by AntonLargiader » Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:17 am

Hey Mickey,

The best way is to sign up for a course held by the MSF (Motorcycle Safety Foundation). They hold state-sponsored courses nationwide. I think the general feeling among experienced riders is that learning from your cousin/friend/whatever isn't the best way because you can learn a lot of bad habits.

Another good way is to ride a dirt bike, if you have the chance. With a bit of coaching you can do a lot of practice on your own before you ever go out on the street.
R1100RS, R100R, K75RT, R100PD, R100GS, XR400R, R75/5x2, Jetta TDI

XILAR8

Post by XILAR8 » Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:10 pm

Mike,